28 Contrasts. Illumined by the Black Sun

Tuesday 04.10.2022 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



The premiere of the choral symphony-performance “Illumined by the Black Sun” by Yevhen Petrychenko took place in 2021 in Pokrovsk, Donetsk region. The idea of ​​this work is related to the sounds of Donbas as a component of the region’s distinctively Ukrainian culture. That’s why there are elements of folklore, traditional folk instruments sound as a drymba, a kalimba, a tambourine, a pipe, etc. There are also sounds of war, war horrors. The composition in its own way opens the unknown Ukrainian Donbas, which appears through the poetry of Mykola Chernyavskyi and Vasyl Stus, through the ancient pedestals of Scythian women. It is significant that the author of the work himself, Yevhen Petrychenko, is from the Donetsk region.

An important idea of ​​the project is to bring unadvertised symbols of Donbas to a new level of recognizability: the Avdiyiv mural, “Teacher of the Ukrainian language” looking at the Donetsk airport, Mykola Chernyavskyi and Vasyl Stus repressed and shot under the Soviet regime, “Luhansk Stonehenge”, a symbol of the archaic and otherworldly powerful forces and stone women, ancient sculptures that long ago protected the region from attacks from the east.

Also, the program will feature the latest choral works by Ukrainian authors.



  • Liatoshynskyi cappella: choir
  • Oleksandr Ostrovskyi, narrator
  • Bohdan Plish, conductor



  • Ivan Nebesnyi (1971). “Archangel’s voice”
  • Tetiana Iashvili  (1980). “Worth it”
  • Yevhen Stankovych (1942). “Bless the Lord, my soul”
  • Hanna Havrylets (1958–2022). “Prayer to the Holy Mother of God”
  • Victoriia Polyova (1962). “Troparion of the Cross”
  • Victoriia Polyova. “Holy God”
  • Yevhen Petrychenko (1976). “Illumined by the Black Sun”, choral symphony-performance in eight parts for mixed choir, drymba, tambourine, kalimba and shamanic tambourine


Moderator: Polina Kordovska


Live broadcast provided by:
Andrij Zelenyj, camera
Mykola Khshanovskyi, live broadcast director
Marian Lesiuk, sound director
Bohdan Sehin, producer


“Ukraine–2022. Muses Are Not Silent” is a concert series in support of Ukrainian musicians during the russian armed aggression. Online concerts will become a platform for the uniting of the Ukrainian music community, as many musicians participating in these concert programs have become internally displaced people and have found shelter in Lviv.

We provide a free opportunity for the whole world to watch concerts on the official YouTube channel of the Lviv National Philharmonic. At the same time, we suggest our listeners from abroad make charitable donations to Ukrainian musicians who have stayed here in Ukraine.