28 Contrasts. Microsymphonies

Sunday 09.10.2022 / 18:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



The last Sunday evening of this year’s “Contrasts” is an excellent opportunity to dive into the breathtaking labyrinths of famous examples of world contemporary music, and the opportunity to feel the power of the ideas of Ukrainian authors. Exercises of the “flowering garden” of musical language by Yevhen Stankovych, effective combinations of acoustic instruments and electronics by Ostap Manulyak, and intelligent searches of Arnold Schoenberg and Witold Lutosławski – make that contrasting quintessence at the end of the 28th Festival!



  • Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra — Sinfonietta:
    Nataliia Kozhushko-Maksymiv, flute
    Yurii Khvostov, oboe
    Mykhailo Zakopets, English horn
    Mykola Hrechukh, clarinet piccolo, clarinet
    Vasyl Boretskyi, clarinet
    Oleksandr Vavryniuk, bass-clarinet
    Andrii Tkachuk, bassoon
    Andrii Budai, double bassoon
    Oleksandr Kholodiuk, horn
    Ruslan Litvinchuk, horn
    Oleksandr Ratsyn, trumpet
    Oleksandr Martynov, trombone
    Volodymyr Veretelnyk, percussion
    Anna Ivanyushenko, harpsichord
    Maksym Shadko, piano, synthesizer
    Mykola Haviuk, violin 1
    Maryna Hromadska, violin 2
    Ustym Zhuk, viola
    Olha Boichuk, cello
    Yarema Kitsyla, double bass
  • Vincent Kozlovsky (PL), conductor



  • Ostap Manulyak (1983).  “Reprogression” for 14 performers and electronics. Commisioned by “Contrasts” Festival (2022, world premiere)
  • Witold Lutosławski (1913–1994). “Chain 1” for 14 performers (1983)
  • Yevhen Stankovych (1942). “Music for heaven musicians” or “Microsymphonies” for wind quintet (1993)
  • Arnold Schoenberg (1874–1951). Chamber Symphony No. 1, op. 9 (1906)


With the support of the ZAiKS, the authors Society, the Polish Music Publishing House PWM and the RenesArt Foundation



Moderator: Polina Kordovska



Live broadcast provided by:
Andrij Zelenyj, camera
Mykola Khshanovskyi, live broadcast director
Marian Lesiuk, sound director
Bohdan Sehin, producer


“Ukraine–2022. Muses Are Not Silent” is a concert series in support of Ukrainian musicians during the russian armed aggression. Online concerts will become a platform for the uniting of the Ukrainian music community, as many musicians participating in these concert programs have become internally displaced people and have found shelter in Lviv.

We provide a free opportunity for the whole world to watch concerts on the official YouTube channel of the Lviv National Philharmonic. At the same time, we suggest our listeners from abroad make charitable donations to Ukrainian musicians who have stayed here in Ukraine.