Conductors. In Ukrainian: Savchuk

Lyudkevych Concert Hall

10.06.2022 / 19:00

Lyudkevych Concert Hall



“Conductors. In Ukrainian” is a well-known project of the Lviv National Philharmonic, founded in 2020.

Thanks to the project, young and talented conductors from different parts of Ukraine have the opportunity to speak up loud to the whole world, because all the events of “Conductors. In Ukrainian” are broadcasted online. Ukrainian conductors perform with one of the oldest and most famous Ukrainian collectives, the Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra. In September 2022, the Orchestra celebrates its 120th anniversary.

Given such artistic cooperation, exceptional symphonic programs combining both Ukrainian and European music have been born.


In the June event, “Conductors. In Ukrainian” the Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra will perform under the direction of Andrii Savchuk, a conductor from Kyiv who often performs symphonic programs in various Ukrainian cities. Andrii Savchuk also works as a conductor in the National Academic Choral Capella “Dumka”.

The concert program will present entirely Ukrainian symphonic music. The evening will begin with “Galician Overture” by Yevhen Orkin, who became one of the finalists of the All-Ukrainian Composition Competition “Ukrainian Concert Overture” in 2021.

The symphonic ballad “Grazhyna” by Borys Liatoshynskyi, based on the ballad by the famous Polish poet Adam Mickiewicz. The idea of ​​self-sacrifice for the sake of others and love for the Motherland is given in the plot of the composition. According to it, Grazhyna sacrifices her life to save her husband, Prince Litavor. Litavor burns in flames, learning of his wife’s tragic death and trying to atone for his guilty and find the forgiveness of his homeland.

The Piano Concerto by the “Last Ukrainian Romantic” Vasyl Barvinskyi has been considered lost for a long time. Written and performed in the interwar years, after a long break, it was found in Argentina and presented here in Lviv only in 1994. In 2019, a new orchestral edition of Vasyl Barvinskyi’s Piano Concerto, written by composer Bohdana Frolyak, was performed at the Lviv Philharmonic. 

This evening, you will hear the Concerto performed by the famous Ukrainian pianist Oksana Rapita and the Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra.



  • Oksana Rapita, piano
  • Lviv National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra  of Ukraine
  • Andrii Savchuk, conductor



  • Yevhen Orkin (1977). Galician Overture (2021)
  • Borys Lyatoshynskyi (1894-1968). Grazhyna. Symphonic Ballad after A. Mickiewicz) (1955)
  • Vasyl Barvinskyi (1888-1963). Piano Concerto (1917-1937)




“Ukraine–2022. Muses Are Not Silent” is a series of digital chamber concerts organized by Myroslav Skoryk Lviv National Philharmonic in support of Ukrainian musicians during the russian armed aggression. Online concerts will become a platform for the uniting of the Ukrainian music community, as many musicians participating in these concert programs have become internally displaced people and have found shelter in Lviv.

We provide a free opportunity for the whole world to watch concerts on the official YouTube channel of the Lviv National Philharmonic. At the same time, we suggest our listeners from abroad make charitable donations to Ukrainian musicians who have stayed here in Ukraine.


Bank details for charitable help.

It is a multi-currency account that accepts transfers in US dollars, euros and Polish zlotys.

Bank name:


Lviv branch

Address of bank:

Ukraine, 79000, Lviv, 4, A.Mitskevich sq.

BIC (SWIFT) code (Bank identifier code):


IBAN code (International Bank Account Number code):

UA07 322 313 00000 26 009 0000 40 819

Name of the account holder:


Address of the account holder

Ukraine, 79000, Lviv, 7 Tchaikovsky Str.

Purpose of payment:

Charitable help for musicians in Ukraine