Virtuosos 42. Dreams: Ukrainian Hope

Wednesday 24.05.2023 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



The Ukrainian-German pianist Violina Petrychenko presents to her listeners a recital program made of lyrical, dreamy moods and states. It is the dream that keeps our spirits up every day, and encourage us to see the light and joy.

The concert will be a presentation of the pianist’s new CD “Dreams: Ukrainian Hope”. Petrychenko says, “Since February 24, 2022, no Ukrainian can dream of anything than the end of this cruel and senseless war. This is a humanitarian and emotional catastrophe. Every day, the news reports on its moral impact. But we are realizing more and more that it has been for decades that we have paid too little attention to Ukrainian music on a cultural level.”

The program will feature works by Ukrainian composers who have remained little known until now: light, romantic, and sometimes melancholic Ukrainian music of the 19th and 20th centuries. Lysenko, Stepovyi, Revutskyi, and Sylvestrov are all romantics, dreamers, and pioneers of new paths, as well as masters of the piano. They see this instrument as a secret friend you can entrust your own confession to.

Let’s face it, how often do we really have the opportunity to follow our dreams and make them come true? During the exquisite poetic event, the pianist invites the audience to dive into the world of fantasy, where everyone is able to create images of their own. Who knows – maybe by the end of the concert your dream will come true?



  • Violina Petrychenko, piano 



  • Mykola Lysenko (1842-1912). “Dreams, Images of the Past”, Op. 13
    • “Dumka-Shumka” Op. 18
  • Yakiv Stepovyi (1883-1921). Waltz op. 5 No. 1 in B minor 
    • Prelude op. 9 No. 1 in B flat minor
    • Mazurka op. 9 No. 2 in E flat major
    • “Prelude to the Memory of Shevchenko” Op. 13 (1911)
    • Fantasy in E minor
    • “Dream” in G minor
  • Levko Revutskyi (1889-1977). Improvisation in E flat major
    • “Song” Op. 17 No. 1 in G minor 
  • Valentyn Sylvestrov (1937). Three Bagatelles Op. 1 (2005)
    • Allegretto
    • Moderato
    • Moderato
    • “Kitsch music” (1977)
      • Allegro vivace
      • Moderato
      • Allegretto
      • Moderato
      • Allegretto


Moderator: Mariia Sydorak