Festival’s Preamble

09.08.2022 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



The 19th edition of the International Festival of Early Music in Lviv will begin with a centuries-old musical heritage of carefully selected music performed by the famous Polish harpsichordist Urszula Stawicka. And even more: this is how the introduction to the main phase of the Festival, the Praeludium, will sound. It will be held from August, 9 to August, 14.

As you know, the preamble genre requires imaginative renewal, activity, and inexhaustibility in the use of all musical colours and means. Hereby, it is related to the main postulates that this year’s Festival seeks to adhere to once again, namely, a decent presentation of the diverse culture of the past in the modern world, the involvement of the most experienced performers from various European countries, and the popularization of unknown musical material of Ukraine and abroad, which is still hidden under the magical dust of centuries from the subtle hearing of our constant visitors.

Urszula Stawicka’s program includes compositions by composers of different nationalities and generations. The common factor for them is a successful performing will, which, having combined in the program the works from the moment of the formation of this genre to the emergence of a whole current of its development — the music of Podbielski, Scheidenmann, Duben, Froberger, as well as Forqueray, Couperin, Duphli and Schildt will be heard.


  • Urszula Stawicka (PL), harpsichord



  • Jan Podbielski (16??–1660). Warszawska Tabulatura Organowa Preludium in D minor 
  • Heinrich Scheidemann (1596–1663). “Pavana Lachrimae” WV 106
  • Gustaw Duben (1624/1628–1690). Suita in D
  • Johann Jacob Froberger (1616–1667). Suita – Lamento
  • Antoine Forqueray (1672–1745). “La Couperin”
  • Francois Couperin (1668–1733). “Les Barricades Mystérieuses” (1717)
  • Jaques Duphly (1715–1789). “La Forqueray”
  • Melchior Schildt (1592/1593–1667). “Pavana Lachrymae”



Moderator: Polina Kordovska


Live broadcast provided by:
Andrij Zelenyj, camera
Mykola Khshanovskyi, live broadcast director
Marian Lesiuk, sound director
Bohdan Sehin, producer



“Ukraine–2022. Muses Are Not Silent” is a concert series in support of Ukrainian musicians during the russian armed aggression. Online concerts will become a platform for the uniting of the Ukrainian music community, as many musicians participating in these concert programs have become internally displaced people and have found shelter in Lviv.

We provide a free opportunity for the whole world to watch concerts on the official YouTube channel of the Lviv National Philharmonic. At the same time, we suggest our listeners from abroad make charitable donations to Ukrainian musicians who have stayed here in Ukraine.