Prokofiev 130

Концертний зал Людкевича

Wednesday 17.02.2021 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича

250 - 400


Sergei Prokofiev Symphony-Concerto in E minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 125 Symphony-Concerto for Cello and Orchestra – the last work of S. Prokofiev which was created with the direct participation of Mstislav Rostropovich. This composition was first performed in 1952 on the conductor’s stand was Svyatoslav Richter for the first time, and the last time in his life. This composition by Prokofiev becomes innovative, it breaks the still existing canons of cello art, adds the cello the voice of unsurpassed “concert” power and musical preacher… Rostropovich with some supernatural power reconciled and bonded Prokofiev’s creative thought with the cello and stimulated the composer’s innovative imagination to a whole reform, which turned the Concerto into a Symphony-Concerto, and the cello into a GIANT instrument, with a new concert infinitely bright palette of colors. The symphony-concert in its final form received a posthumous acclaim. Rostropovich remained its sole performer for a long time. The composition in three parts (Andante, Allegro quisto, Andante con moto) is the culmination of cello performance, which has become an integral part of the repertoire of soloists around the world.

 Suite №. 1 from the ballet “Cinderella” for symphony orchestra, op. 107 Charles Perrault’s fairytale has repeatedly attracted the attention of many composers, operas and ballets were written on its basis, and Sergei Prokofiev was no exception. He was writing the ballet from 1940 to 1944, the premiere took place in November 1945 at the Bolshoi Theater, where at that time the famous Galina Ulanova was dancing. Based on the music for the ballet, the composer created suites for symphony orchestra. The music for the play “Cinderella” has an amazing power, the composition is bright, sparkling and incredibly charming, as it should be a real, good fairytale, where justice will deffinately prevail, and good will be rewarded. Not for nothing, Vladimir Blok noted that Prokofiev had an extraordinary gift – “to find special keys to the hearts” with the help of his incredible music.



  • Olexiy Shadrin,  cello
  • Volodymyr Sirenko, conductor