Light Power

Friday 01.12.2023 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



The variety of works to be performed by the Lviv Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra on December 1 will include music by Yevhen Stankovych, one of the most famous living Ukrainian composers. He will be represented in the program by his orchestral suite “The Night Before Christmas”. It belongs to the best examples of the latest Ukrainian ballet, combining the laughing element of art and high-quality symphonies. The composer uses quotes from world-famous masterpieces, subtly emphasizes folklore motifs in the work, and immerses it in a mysteriously festive mystery of carols and a luminous winter fairy tale.

Jan Sibelius’s Violin Concerto will be performed by the famous Ukrainian soloist Bohdana Pivnenko. For many years, Pivnenko has been actively promoting the latest Ukrainian music in Ukraine and abroad, in particular in such halls as the Berliner Philharmonie, Weill Hall Carnegie Hall, Palau de la Musica Catalana and others. This time, she will play music full of light feelings, sublime and trembling impulse. However, it is not devoid of moments of drama, which will let the listener into the universe of deep personal experiences of the lyrical hero.

Finally, the program will feature a masterpiece of classical music, the famous Fifth Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven. Listening to it, you can imagine how, defeating the evil fate, the hero triumphs and rises above the raging ocean of human feelings and worldly troubles. This is how light conquers darkness, giving us confidence in the future.





  • Lviv National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra
  • Bohdana Pivnenko, violin
  • Theodore Kuchar, conductor


  • Yevhen Stankovych. Suite from the ballet-fantasy “The Night Before Christmas” (1990)
  • Jan Sibelius. Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47 (1903)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven. Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67 (1808)