Through Darkness

Tuesday 30.04.2024 / 19:00

S.Lyudkevych Concert Hall



At a time when the canonical struggle between good and evil has crossed swords not for life but for death, faith in salvation is also a challenge. First of all, to all-consuming despair.

In the most important week for all Christians, the Lviv National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra will present a program of works inspired by spirituality. Together with American conductor Benjamin Loeb and guests of the Philharmonic: soprano Allison Charney, cellists Peter Seidenber and Ari Evan, the orchestra will present five works by composers of different generations, among which, along with music by legendary classics, one will be able to hear the works of our contemporaries. It is also symbolic of how the evening will combine romantic human-centeredness with the sublime tranquillity of the psalms set to the melodies, just as the high sound of the soprano intertwines with the deep timbre of the solo cello.

The evening will begin with a work for voice, cello and chamber orchestra. The American composer Kim D. Sherman’s “Invocation” will be performed in this exquisite combination. The orchestra will then perform the Grammy-winning music of Kitt Wakeley, full of faith and energy, “I’ll Never Let You Go.”

The program will continue with two iconic cello concertos – the first of which, Joseph Haydn’s Cello Concerto in D major, is the last known classical concerto written for the instrument. The second, composed almost 70 years later, was the first romantic work of the genre.

Moshe Knoll’s Psalm 133 will serve as the lyrical centerpiece, a reminder of the Lord’s care, which gives strength to challenge even the most powerful evil.



  • Allison Charney, soprano
  • Ari Evan, cello
  • Peter Seidenberg, cello
  • Lviv National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra
  • Benjamin Loeb, conductor



  • Kim D. Sherman. “Invocation” for soprano, cello and chamber orchestra
  • Kitt Wakeley. “I’ll Never Let You Go”
  • Joseph Haydn. Cello Concerto in D major, Op. 101, Hob VIIb. 2
  • Moshe Knoll. Psalm No. 133 for soprano and chamber orchestra
  • Robert Schumann. Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129