Contrasts 27. Summa Tempologica

Lyudkevych Concert Hall

04.10.2021 / 19:00

Lyudkevych Concert Hall


Subscriptions are valid


* The event was postponed from October 2


This concert combines the new music and seeks answers (or makes the questions?) on a global scale. Can art be limited to musing about time, space or the nature of things? Such distinctions will only narrow the objects of reflection and destroy their essence. To consider something deeply and from afar at the same time, overcoming the limits of conditional knowledge, is the task of art, which queries to discover and understand its new creation.

«Summa Tempologica» is the name of the project, which denotes the phenomenon of the human way of thinking in music: combination, comprehension, composition. They are often determined by the dynamics with which the past moves towards the modern. Here is the «sum of the logic of time», which, by analogy with Yuriy Andrukhovych’s words, can be observed with «infinitely open potentiality» and checked for correspondence of time (real and relative) by 4 generations of composers: Polish master Witold Lutoslawski, Ukrainian renowned authors Viktor Kaminsky, Mykhailo Shved, Ostap Manulyak and young author Yuriy Pikush. The premiere of the latter’s work is inspired by the Residence at the «Sheptytsky Scholarship», a project of the Sheptytsky Center with the support of the Ukrainian Cultural Foundation, which continues the tradition of supporting talented Ukrainians to create new artefacts.



  • Natalia Kozhushko-Maxymiv, flute (UA)
  • Taras Hamar, clarinet (UA)
  • Nataliia Pelekh, piano (UA)
  • Volodymyr Veretelnyk, marimba (UA)
  • Marko Komonko, violin (UA)
  • Андрій Chaikovskyi, violin (UA)
  • Ustym Zhuk, viola (UA)
  • Oksana Lytvynenko, cello (UA)
  • Roman Kreslenko, conductor (UA)



  • Mykhailo Shved (*1978, UA). «Clowns» for two violins (2018)
  • Victor Kaminsky (*1953, UA). Sonata for cello and piano (2020)
  • Witold Lutoslawski (1913–1994, PL). «Grave», metamorphoses for cello and piano (1981)
  • Ostap Manulyak (*1983, UA). «Saltations II» for flute, clarinet, violin and cello (2021, world premiere)
  • Yuriy Pikush (*1998, UA). «Summa Tempologica» for chamber ensemble (2021, world premiere of the work of the Sheptytsky Scholarship’s resident)


In cooperation with the Sheptytsky Center and with the support of the Ukrainian Cultural Foundation

With the support of ZAiKS and Pro Musica Viva Foundation