OUR BACHIANA. From Lviv to Brandenburg

Tuesday 21.03.2023 / 19:00

Концертний зал Людкевича



“Our Baсhiana” is a chamber music festival that continues the “Bach-Marathon” annual project, which the Lviv National Philharmonic organizes during the celebration of Johann Sebastian Bach’s birthday. Commonly, most of the world celebrates his birthday on March 21, according to the old calendar, because the Protestant Church in Germany embraced the Gregorian calendar in 1700, with the agreement that until 1699 all dates remained valid.

The final day of the “Our Bachiana” festival will be held under the flag of Bach’s Brandenburg concerts. A series of six excellent music pieces for orchestra is the quintessence of the mature style of the renowned artist. It is in this opus that Bach appears not only as a masterful representative of his time but also looks straight forward to the future – he writes music, which specialists later call the forerunner of the classical symphony.

As always, the high, active tone of Bach’s works here is combined with the bright recognized role of each concert in the cycle. The composer masterfully combines the creative and witty competition of soloists and orchestra with intellectual reflections on the eternal theme: the unique beauty exists in every moment, every pause, and every sound.




  • Andrii Pavlov, violin
  • Ihor Zavhorodnii, violin
  • Martha Hereha, violin
  • Nazar Shutko, violin piccolo
  • Adrian Bodnar, violin
  • Andrii Kushnir, violin
  • Anna Bura, violin
  • Ustym Zhuk, viola
  • Andrii Chop, viola
  • Oksana Lytvynenko, cello
  • Maksym Rymar, cello
  • Olha Boichuk, cello
  • Nazar Stets, double bass
  • Yevhenii Marchuk, oboe
  • Iryna Tikhonova, oboe
  • Stepan Syvokhip, oboe
  • Andrii Tkachuk, bassoon
  • Petryshyn Oleh, trumpet piccolo
  • Oleksandr Kholodyuk, horn
  • Zoltan Bodnar, horn
  • Bozhena Korchynska, flute
  • Olha Milosta, flute
  • Olha Shadrina-Lychak, harpsichord



  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Brandenburg Concertos (1721)
    •  Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046
    • Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
    • Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
    • Concerto No. 6 in B-flat major, BWV 1051
    • Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
    • Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047



Moderator Polina Kordovska


Live broadcast provided by:

  • Andrij Zelenyj, camera
  • Mykola Khshanovskyi, live broadcast director
  • Marian Lesiuk, sound director
  • Bohdan Sehin, producer



“Ukraine. Muses Are Not Silent” is a concert series in support of Ukrainian musicians during the russian armed aggression. Online concerts will become a platform for the uniting of the Ukrainian music community, as many musicians participating in these concert programs have become internally displaced people and have found shelter in Lviv.

We provide a free opportunity for the whole world to watch concerts on the official YouTube channel of the Lviv National Philharmonic. At the same time, we suggest our listeners from abroad make charitable donations to Ukrainian musicians who have stayed here in Ukraine.

CHARITABLE HELP FOR UKRAINIAN MUSICIANS: Bank details | Patreon | PayPal: [email protected]