TOGETHER|РАЗОМ. Muses Are Not Silent

Tuesday 01.11.2022 / 18:00

Концертний зал Людкевича

Вхід за запрошеннями


Art exhibition of works by Ihor Stepanyk in the Liudkevych Concert Hall of the Philharmonic in the project “Ukraine-2022. Muses Are Not Silent”

To be together! This is our common experience of war, our resistance and the key to Victory! Images of cities are shared through human emotions and embodied in sacralised canvases, imprinted in a special way for future generations by contemporary art…


About works

War is an unambiguous concept. It erases everything that was important before that like a rubber. What you were thinking about before going to sleep yesterday, what you were worried about. It erases the boundaries of sex, gender, choices and faith. The war draws a new contour. There are outlines of you, your loved ones, and your understanding of humanity. There are no more professional frameworks, either. There are ways to protect yourself. Therefore, the series of works “Together” is a reaction to the attempt to destroy you and those around you, relatives and strangers, who instantly become so familiar. These are 15 answers to the question “How are you?”.

Each of the paintings symbolizes a city in Ukraine, which in one way or another suffered destruction from the Russian invaders: stable Kyiv, native Lviv, wounded Bucha, offended Kherson. All these months they live according to the principle: “Let’s hold on! Together!” Having a child or animal throughout the series means hope for the future…. The signs and dreams of childhood acquire threatening features. But victory has its own face: Faith, Hope and Love!

The curator of the event is Vlad Zvarych.